Country Kitchen’s 45th Anniversary

Country Kitchen SweetArt was started 45 years ago by my Grandma and Grandpa, Mildred and Wilbur Brand.  My parents took over ownership in 1986.  Both my mom and dad (Vi and Ed Whittington) are retired, though they both can be found here doing projects every so often.  In fact, my mom just finished her Cooked Sugar Art book this summer!   I feel so thankful to have been “born-into” such an awesome business.  We are celebrating the week of October 19-23 with various events, special pricing and doorprizes.  We are also having a local Celebrity Challenge Thursday evening with participants:  Mayor Tom Henry, FW Derby Girls, Melissa Montana (CEO of Star 88.3) and Cathy Brand-Beere (Owner of DeBrand Chocolates).

My mom, niece Kayla and I decorated a five tier cake for the week long event.  We had so much fun creating an assortment of the treats that surround the cake.  Everything on the cake is edible.  My mom made the awesome little cake stands from Isomalt.  We used an assortment of media to create the treats including fondant, royal icing, gelatin, and more. 

Leave a Reply

